Courses at a Glance

Minibus Driver Risk Assessments (MBDRA)

We are able to offer a range of training options to help schools and colleges better manage their minibus driving. There is a lot of confusion surrounding who can and who can’t drive the school minibus. Hopefully the explanations below will help but if you are still in doubt please do not hesitate to contact us on 0800 1777 344 or email karena@chdt.co.uk for further information. We will be glad to help you. The main information you need from the potential driver is

  • When did they take their driving test?
  • What categories of vehicle does their licence say they can drive?

Bucks County Council Drivers Test

If you are a school that is still under the control of Bucks County Council or lease a bus and use their vehicle insurance then you will be required to take a Bucks County Council driving test in the category of vehicle you are looking to drive. If this is what you need please complete the contact form Bucks County Council Driving Test Application Form and send together with copies of

Minibus Compliance for Schools

CDT are delighted to be able to offer Minibus Compliance Packages for schools. We realise that the world of minibus driving can be very confusing and hope that this can help. Package 1. Comprises Minibus Driving Policy/Handbook/Vehicle Check List/Licence Check Records. All are provided as templates for your school to adapt to their needs.

Fleet Driver Assessment Programme

If you have staff who spend time driving for work you have a responsibility to do everything you can to protect them. Under Health and Safety legislation the employer must provide-

  • Safe systems of work
  • Safe work equipment
  • Adequate training and supervision

If you decide that as part of your duty of care you are going to provide a driver assessment programme I would advise you think of the answer to the question – “What do I hope to achieve from this?

MiDAS (Minibus Driver Assessment Scheme)

MiDAS is the Minibus Driver Awareness Scheme, administered by the Community Transport Association (CTA) which promotes a nationally recognised standard for the assessment and training of minibus drivers. The courses are designed to enhance minibus driving standards and promote the safer operation of minibuses and passenger transport. Who is it aimed at? MiDAS is applicable to any organisation operating or using minibuses. Member organisations range from small voluntary organisations operating one vehicle, to local authorities operating large fleets of minibuses as well as many Care Home groups, schools, colleges and universities.

Passenger Assistant Training Scheme (PATS)

PATS ( Passenger Assistant Training Scheme) is a nationally recognised course of training for people whose role it is to provide care and assistance to passengers travelling by road. Following the MiDAS modular format, PATS training covers the needs of staff performing the role of passenger assistant (Escort) on a vehicle.


An online training package which consists of everything you need to study for and complete your annual training and assessment and allow you to keep your MOT tester licence. All testers for vehicle test group class 1 & 2 or class 3, 4, 5 & 7 will have to:

  • complete a minimum of 16 hours training over a rolling 5-year period
  • complete a minimum of 3 hours training every year
  • pass an annual assessment

This course has been designed to allow candidates to work at their own pace and time of choosing. They can even do it at home if they prefer. This means that training can be completed without having to spend too much time out of the business. Candidates can work anywhere they have internet access; at home or in the workplace.

IMI Level 3 MOT Manager Course

Taking this 2-day IMI MOT Manager course will teach a candidate how to:

  • Manage the legislative and compliance knowledge required to manage an MOT Test Centre
  • Effectively encourage improvements in customer service
  • Develop and supervise staff within a Testing Centre
  • Understand the Centre quality systems and audits

Who is this qualification for? This qualification is for learners who wish to run an MOT Vehicle Testing Station (VTS), or who will have direct responsibility for MOT operations at a VTS in the future.


This 2-day course offers technicians without recognised qualifications a simple way to become an MOT Tester – Vehicle Technician Accredited Assessment What is VTAA – Vehicle Technician Accredited Assessment? The VTAA – Vehicle Technician Accredited Assessment gives technicians the equivalent of a Level 3 qualification.  It means that mechanics who have four or more years “on the tools” workshop experience can prove their capabilities at Level 3. The VTAA is required for mechanics without a relevant Level 3 qualification so that they may progress to the Level 2 Award in MOT Testing. The VTAA – Vehicle Technician Accredited Assessment is not a qualification but is a specifically designed accreditation and a lifetime achievement.  Technicians who complete the VTAA will be considered equivalent to those who have studied to Level 3 via a qualification route.

IMI Level 2 Awards in MOT Testing – DVSA MOT Tester –  MOT Tester qualification

To pass this Level 2 Award in MOT Testing for Class 4 & 7 and gain your MOT qualification, you will be need to successfully complete both a practical and theory online assessment. This 4-day course covers the 5 modules that make up the course criteria as set by the DVSA.

  1. working safely within a vehicle test centre
  2. communicating with colleagues and customers
  3. how to manage and maintain their CPD
  4. carrying out pre-test checks
  5. carrying out an MOT test.